

May 2014

81st Annual General Meeting Of the North Western Reform Synagogue Sunday 11th May 2014 at 10:15 am

AGENDA

Item	Matter	Note
1	Welcome on behalf of The President, Brenda Freedman (The meeting will be chaired by Vice President Edward Cohen)	
2	Address by the outgoing Chairman, Harriet Radley	
3	Clergy Report 2013	
4	To approve the Minutes of the 80 th Annual General Meeting held 12th May 2013	i
5	To approve the Minutes of the Annual Budget General Meeting held 4 th December 2013	i
6	To adopt the Annual Report for the calendar year 2013	i
7	To adopt the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31st December 2013	i
8	To re-appoint Messrs. Nyman, Libson & Paul as Auditors to the Synagogue for the year 2014	
9	To elect a Vice President	ii
10	To elect a Chairman	iii
11	To elect a Vice Chairman	iii
12	To elect members of Council	iii
13	Address by the new Chairman	
14	Any Other Business	vi



May 2014

81st Annual General Meeting Of the North Western Reform Synagogue Sunday 11th May 2014 at 10:15 am

NOTES TO THE AGENDA

- i. The documents referred to are available on the Synagogue website at www.alyth.org.uk and hard copies are also available upon request from the Synagogue offices.
- ii. In accordance with Clause L.4 (b) of the Synagogue Constitution, Mrs Gill Epstein, having served for three years as Vice-President is not eligible for re-election. Council are delighted to nominate **Mrs**Collette Levy to take the role of Vice President.
- iii. In accordance with Clause F.5 (a) of the Synagogue Constitution, having completed two years' service since being elected, Harriet Radley stands down as Chairman and Mark Harris as Vice Chairman.

Council are delighted to nominate:

Mark Harris as the new Chairman and

Noeleen Cohen as the new Vice Chairman. (** resigning Council position upon appointment)

Nominations in writing for alternative Chairman and Vice Chairman can be sent to the Honorary Secretary at the Synagogue up to seven days before the Meeting. In order to be eligible the person nominated must have served at least one year on Council in the past three years and at least one year on Executive in the past six years.

 The following Council Members having completed their three year term since being elected are eligible for re-election:

David Brown Caronne Graham Paul Jonas Dan Rosenfield

 The following Council Member having completed his full term of office since being elected is not standing for re-election:

Russell Raphael

- There are no Council Members who have completed their three year term since being elected but are not eligible for re-election.
- The following Council Members are standing down:

Sara Glaser Ruth Wellin Noeleen Cohen**

 The following Council Members elected for a three year term in 2012 are willing to continue to serve on Council for a further year:

Russell Baum Howard Bogod David Leigh Arieh Miller Jackie Miller Fran Moscow Lanny Silverstone Ruth Smilg

• The following Council Members elected for a three year term in 2013 are willing to continue to serve on Council for a further two years:

Nicola Feuchtwang Sue Haskell Nicky Minter-Green Michael Overlander
Julia Simmonds

- There are SEVEN vacancies on Council for which nominations are invited. Nominations must be
 received at least seven days before the meeting. Pursuant to Clause F.4 (c) nominations must be
 received in the Synagogue office before 10:00am on Sunday 4th May 2014.
- All members of the Synagogue are entitled to be nominated to be elected to Council as long as
 they have been a member for at least 12 months prior to being elected and they are nominated by
 at least two other members of the Synagogue.
- v. Pursuant to Clause J.3 of the Synagogue Constitution, the Senior Warden Dr Selina Gellert will retire.
- vi. Further to note v. above, **Mr Michael Simon** will become the Senior Warden of the Synagogue.
- vii. In accordance with Clause D.6 of the Synagogue Constitution, any member is entitled to submit a resolution to be considered at the Annual General Meeting as long as the resolution shall have been given in writing to the Honorary Secretary no less than 10 days prior to the meeting and such resolution shall have been signed by at least three other members none of whom should be immediately related to the proposer.
- viii. A copy of the Synagogue Constitution is available on the Alyth website (<u>www.alyth.org.uk</u>) and can also be obtained from the Synagogue office.