



### 84<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the North Western Reform Synagogue Sunday 7 May 2017 at 10:15

# AGENDA

ltem	Matter	Note
1	Welcome by The President, Peter Backman. The meeting will be chaired by The President	
2	Address by the Chair, Noeleen Cohen	
3	To approve the Minutes of the 83 <sup>rd</sup> Annual General Meeting held 15 May 2016	i
4	To approve the Minutes of the Annual Budget General Meeting held on 18 December 2016	İ
5	To adopt the Trustees Report and Financial Statements for the calendar year 2016	i
6	To re-appoint Messrs. Nyman Libson Paul as Auditors to the Synagogue for the year 2017	
7	Rabbinic Partnership - Community Report	
8	To re-elect the President	ii
9	To elect a Vice President	iii
10	To elect members of Council	iv
11	Any Other Business	

# May 2017

### 84<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the North Western Reform Synagogue Sunday 7 May 2017 at 10:15

# NOTES TO THE AGENDA

- i. The documents referred to are available on the Synagogue website at <u>www.alyth.org.uk</u> and hard copies are also available upon request from the Synagogue offices.
- ii. In accordance with Clause K3.4 (b) of the Synagogue Constitution, **Peter Backman**, having served for two years as President is eligible for re-election. Council are delighted to nominate **Peter Backman** to take the role of President.
- iii. In accordance with Clause L.4 (b) of the Synagogue Constitution, **Colette Levy**, having served for three years as Vice-President is not eligible for re-election. Council will nominate a candidate to take the role of Vice President.
- iv. Election of Council
  - The following Council Members having completed their three-year term since being elected are eligible for re-election:

#### Caronne Graham Clare Lubin

- There are no Council Members who have completed their full term of office since being elected not standing for re-election:
- The following Council Members who have completed their three year term since being elected are not eligible for re-election.

#### **David Brown**

- There are no Council Members standing down
- The following Council Members elected for a three year term in 2015 are willing to continue to serve on Council for a further year:

Jackie Goymour	Arieh Miller	Honor Small
Fran Moscow	Lanny Silverstone	Ruth Smilg

# May 2017

### 84<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the North Western Reform Synagogue Sunday 7 May 2017 at 10:15

• The following Council Members elected for a three year term in 2016 are willing to continue to serve on Council for a further two years:

Nicky Minter-Green	Michael Overlander	Nicola Feuchtwang
Sue Haskel	Irit Burkeman	David Finlay

• The following Council Member was co-opted in 2016 to fill a vacancy on Council and wishes to stand for election for three years commencing in 2017:

#### Gary Lipman

- There are 4 vacancies on Council for which nominations are invited. Nominations must be received at least seven days before the meeting. Pursuant to Clause F.4 (c) nominations must be received in the Synagogue office before 16:00 on 28 April 2017.
- All members of the Synagogue are entitled to be nominated to be elected to Council if they have been a member for at least 12 months prior to being elected and they are nominated by at least two other members of the Synagogue.
- v. In accordance with Clause D.6 of the Synagogue Constitution, any member is entitled to submit a resolution to be considered at the Annual General Meeting if the resolution shall have been given in writing to the Honorary Secretary no less than 10 days prior to the meeting and such resolution shall have been signed by at least three other members none of whom should be immediately related to the proposer.
- vi. A copy of the Synagogue Constitution is available on the Alyth website (<u>www.alyth.org.uk</u>) and can also be obtained from the Synagogue office.